Miss Jr Teen Illinois United States Volunteers at Hashtag Lunchbag Chicago

ciara hashtag lunchbag chicago collage

Hashtag Lunchbag is a humanity service movement dedicated to eliminating hunger in Chicago and across the globe, one lunch bag at a time. All lunches are made and distributed by volunteers. I’m proud to say that I was one of many volunteers who helped to feed over 400 people. I hope to inspire others to help the hungry and the homeless in their community. I know that I was inspired by the team of attorney volunteers from the Black Women Lawyers’ Association who took the time to talk to me and the other girls. They partnered with Hashtag Lunchbag as the Community Service Project during their 2015 National Summit in Chicago.

Did you know that there is a connection between hunger and obesity? Well I learned from some experts that there is! My Miss United States Organization ‘Beauty With A Purpose’ platform is to be a champion in the fight to end childhood obesity. So, I was thrilled when I saw that Hashtag Lunchbag Chicago makes sure that each lunch includes healthier choices like fresh fruit, water, and even lettuce on the sandwiches. When the hungry kids and adults receive a nutritious meal, it really does make a difference.

ciara hashtag lunchbag chicago group shot

Each of us were responsible for helping to decorate 400 lunch bags, making sure to include an inspirational note for each person to read. I really hope that whoever gets my notes will know that someone cares. I put my heart into every single note. I noticed that all of the volunteers wanted to inspire the hungry and homeless people. You could tell by the wonderful notes. It was fun working alongside the attorneys from the Black Women Lawyers’ Association, the kids, the absolutely amazing coordinators and dedicated volunteers. I would especially like to thank Ms. Ebony Jones-Washington, Hashtag Lunchbag Chicago Coordinator and her entire staff for having me.

ciara decorating hashtag lunchbags

This organization believes that everyone has the power to share good deed experiences with friends and followers, and by encouraging them to also pay it forward. Sharing on your social media is the only way to make sure that our hungry brothers and sisters will continue to receive the lunch bags. You can start by retweeting below. Share, share, share… #HashtagLunchbagChicago #BeautyWithAPurpose

2 thoughts on “Miss Jr Teen Illinois United States Volunteers at Hashtag Lunchbag Chicago

Leave a Reply

