Dance Movement Towards Better Health

team illinois dance rehearsal fun

I’m really liking this blogging thing. It makes me sort out some of the best moments in my life and how my story might inspire others. I haven’t posted in a while since I’ve been so busy with my reign, community service projects, family, school, and trying to have a social life. But, now that I’ve learned a lot about time management, I want to continue blogging to spread awareness about ending childhood obesity and hunger too.

Today I’m sharing something that is a huge passion of mine. Dance! Ever since I could walk, I was a dancer. I kind of think it was my destiny. When it comes to ending childhood obesity, leading an active lifestyle is very important. What better way to get active than using dance movement towards better health. You can start out with simple moves and let the music inspire you. You can take classes to learn a variety of dances. Whatever you like to do, just do it. The Let’s Move initiative says that we teens and kids need at least one hour of activity each day. Our parents and other adults need at least 30 minutes. Dance is a great way to get this activity in.

Of course you can dance around your house and with your friends in the yard, but there are lots of ways to take classes if you love dance like I do. I was blessed to be accepted into the first public performing arts school of Chicago in my freshman year. Being able to dance there was incredible. Then, because of family challenges, I had to transfer to my local High School this year. It was devastating to me, but I refused to give up my passion and dreams. I now dance in one of the many After School Matters programs, designed to help expose teens to what life has to offer.

You can find free programs in your community too. If you need help let me know, leave a comment and I will get back to you. Remember to get at least 1 hour of activity in each day, 30 minutes for my adult readers. Together we can help end childhood obesity! Love, Ciara 🙂 

Leave a Reply

